School term dates in NT

The majority of government schools follow the same school year.

Term dates for urban and remote schools differ at the beginning and end of the school year.

Read more about urban and remote schools.

Please note: Gunbalanya school has flexible term dates to recognise activities in the community.

If your child attends a non-government school, check term dates with the school.

Term dates for 2019

Get the printable calendars:

2019 calendar for Northern Territory schools (176.9 kb)
2019 calendar for Northern Territory schools  (83.5 kb)

Semester one

TermDates
Term 1 Urban schools
Tuesday 29 January to Friday 12 April (teachers resume Friday 25 January)

Remote schools (excluding Gunbalanya School) 
Wednesday 30 January to Friday 12 April (teachers resume Tuesday 29 January) 
Term break Monday 15 April to Thursday 18 April
Term 2 Tuesday 23 April to Friday 28 June
Semester break Monday 1 July to Friday 19 July

Semester two

TermDates
Term 3 Tuesday 23 July to Friday 27 September (teachers resume 22 July)
Term break Monday 30 September to Friday 11 October 
Term 4 Urban schools
Monday 14 October to Thursday 12 December

Remote schools
Monday 14 October to Friday 13 December  
Semester break Monday 16 December to Friday 24 January 2020

Last updated: 09 January 2019

Share:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.