Placeholder for NTG rose image
Northern Territory Government Australia
Home > Law and Safety > Courts (Law)

Courts (Law)

Services provided by the department include - Anti-Discrimination Commission, Community Justice Centre, Consumer Affairs, Correctional Services / Prisons, Courts Administration, Legal Services including Law Making & Law Reform, Licensing, Regulation and Alcohol Strategy, Office of Crime Prevention, Public Trustee, Public Prosecutions, Registrar-General - including Births, Deaths and Marriages, the Land Titles Office and WorkSafe.
The Lands and Mining Tribunal is an independent statutory body established under the Lands and Mining Tribunal Act, which commenced on 1 August 1998. The Tribunal is currently vested with jurisdiction in the following areas: (i) making recommendations is respect of compulsory land acquisitions under the Lands Acquisition Act 1978, (ii) decisions or lack of them by the Development Consent Authority under the Planning Act 1999; and (iii) compensation claims in respect of land compulsory acquired as a consequence of orders of the body which preceded the Tribunal.
This database contains all the current consolidated Acts and subordinate legislation of the Northern Territory of Australia.
Northern Territory Correctional Services (NTCS), in partnership with the community, is committed to delivering a correctional service that contributes to individual and community safety. Correctional services are provided by Custodial, Juvenile Justice and Community Corrections in the NTCS.
Riverine flooding occurs when heavy rainfall causes relatively high water levels in rivers or creeks to overtop the banks. The magnitude of a flood is determined by the amount of rainfall that has fallen in the catchment, its duration and its spatial distribution. Floodplain is defined as the area adjacent to a river or creek that is inundated by flood waters and which covers an extent related to the magnitude of the flood. Riverine flooding is one of the major natural disasters in the NT. Several communities and towns are prone to riverine flooding. It also restricts access to some communities and towns from days to weeks.
The jurisdiction of the Magistrates Courts are divided into two main areas, civil and criminal. The Local Court deals with civil cases and the Court of Summary Jurisdiction mostly deals with less serious criminal cases. The Magistrates also have jurisdiction to hear matters in a number of other courts, such as the Juvenile Court, the Family Matters Court, Local Court, Small Claims Court and the Work Health Court.
The Tribunal was established under the Mental Health and Related Services Act 1998 (the Act). It is an independent statutory body that has the power to make decisions about the care and treatment of people who have a mental illness or mental disturbance.
This portal provides access to data and information collected by the Water Resources Division. The water monitoring group within the Division delivers a number of monitoring programs specific to activities undertaken by the Division which include Flood Monitoring, Water Allocation Planning and Aquatic Health Monitoring
Northern Territory Weather and Warnings - link to The Bureau of Meteorology
The Supreme Court of the Northern Territory of Australia is the superior Court of the Northern Territory. It exercises both original and appellate jurisdictions (the power to hear and determine cases). The Court has jurisdiction in all matters, civil and criminal, which are not expressly excluded by statute (law).

Top of Page

Placeholder for Right Hand Side Image