Placeholder for NTG rose image
Northern Territory Government Australia
Home > Official Symbols > NT Flag

NT Flag

Desert Rose

The Northern Territory Flag was flown for the first time at the ceremony in Darwin on 1 July 1978 which marked the grant of self-government to the Northern Territory.

The flag-raising ceremony was held on the Esplanade, overlooking Darwin Harbour, and was acknowledged with a 19-gun salute from HMAS Derwent.


The Northern Territory flag incorporates the three official Territory colours – black, white and red ochre – and a stylised version of official Northern Territory floral emblem, Sturt's Desert Rose. The floral emblem resides in white on a red ochre panel which is flanked on the left by a black panel on which are set five white stars representing the form of the constellation of the Southern Cross. The stylised Desert Rose on the red ochre panel has seven petals with a seven-pointed star in the centre, symbolising the six Australian states and the Northern Territory.


The Northern Territory flag was designed by prominent Australian artist, Robert Ingpen AM. Mr Ingpen's work is well known throughout Australia and includes murals in important public buildings and several postage stamp designs, including the Cook Bi-Centenary series. In designing the Northern Territory flag Mr Ingpen used as a basis a number of suggested designs submitted by members of the public at the invitation of the Northern Territory Government.

Placeholder for Right Hand Side Image