>return to About Parliament

Tours of Parliament House

The Northern Territory's Parliament House opened in 1994 and is a magnificent example of tropical architecture.

The Northern Territory Library located within Parliament House is open Monday to Friday from 10am to 5pm, Saturday from 1pm to 5pm and is closed Sundays from 1 October 2013 - 31 January 2014 and Public Holidays.

Self-Guided Tours
Free brochures are available in the foyer near the front entrance to Parliament House. The brochure allows visitors to explore the public areas of the building at their leisure.

Free Guided Public Tours

Free guided tours last about 90 minutes and depart from the foyer at 9am and 11am every Saturday from February to November. During the Dry Season, from May to September, an additional tour is offered on Wednesdays at 10.30am. Bookings are not necessary.

School Tours
Parliamentary Education Services offer free guided tours for school students throughout the week on request. Visits are encouraged during parliamentary sitting days so students can spend part of their tour witnessing parliament in action in a special glassed section of the public gallery of the Chamber. When available, members can leave the chamber to address students in the gallery. School tours are one hour.

For further information or to make a booking please contact Karen Parker on 8946 1414 or by email at karen.parker@nt.gov.au.

Other Tours
Parliamentary Education Services are also available to run free tours of Parliament House for any organisation within the public or private sector on request. These tours can also be run during parliamentary sitting days so participants can watch parliament in action as part of the visit. Tours can be tailored in length and content to suit the needs of each group.

For further information or to make a booking please contact Karen Parker on 8946 1414 or by email at karen.parker@nt.gov.au

>return to About Parliament

Northern Territory Government | Interpreter Service | Copyright, Disclaimer, Liability | Information Commissioner | Accessibility | Contact Us