>return to About Parliament

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly


The Honourable Kezia Purick MLA holds the position of Speaker and is the Presiding Officer of the Legislative Assembly.  Ms Purick was elected as Speaker unopposed on 23 October 2012 for the12th Assembly.

As Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Ms Purick has three main roles, that is:

  • a procedural role as the Presiding Officer for the Legislative Assembly who presides over the sittings of the parliament;
  • a ceremonial role – representing the parliament at official ceremonies and state visits and receiving official delegations to the Territory including High Commissioners, Ambassadors and Heads of State; and
  • an administrative role – to act as a non-cabinet Minister for the Legislative Assembly with responsibility for the State Square precinct including the Parliament House building itself.  This responsibility includes ensuring Members are supplied with an office, staff, facilities and financial resources in order to allow him or her to conduct the business of an elected member. A heavy emphasis is also placed on parliamentary education, including to remote parts of the Northern Territory.

Ms Purick has lived in the Territory with her family since 1959 and been a resident of the rural area since 1966.  Ms Purick has been the Member for Goyder since 2008 and has an extensive background in the resource industry.  Schooled in Darwin, Ms Purick completed tertiary studies in Perth.

Contact Details

Ms Martine Smith
Office of the Speaker
Phone: (08) 8946 1433
Fax: (08) 8981 3284
Email: LA.Speaker@nt.gov.au

GPO Box 3721

>return to About Parliament

Northern Territory Government | Interpreter Service | Copyright, Disclaimer, Liability | Information Commissioner | Accessibility | Contact Us