Mental Health Review Tribunal

Quick Links

Mental Health Review Tribunal

As of 1 January 2015 the NTCATwill manage both Mental Health Review Tribunal (MHRT) and Lands Planning Mining Tribunal (LPMT).


Annual Reports Who is on the Tribunal? | What does the Tribunal do? | How to Contact the Tribunal

The Tribunal was established under the Mental Health and Related Services Act 1998 (the Act). It is an independent statutory body that has the power to make decisions about the care and treatment of people who have a mental illness or mental disturbance.The majority of Tribunal hearings are held to decide whether a person needs to be treated as an involuntary patient, either in hospital or in the community, in accordance with the Act.Decisions made by the Tribunal are enforceable by law.The Tribunal sits in Darwin and Alice Springs on a weekly basis. Tribunal hearings for remote locations may be held by video or telephone conferencing.The Tribunal sits as a 3-member panel. It comprises a legal member (a qualified lawyer or magistrate), a medical member (a qualified psychiatrist), and a member with special interest or expertise in the area of mental health, who represents the general community.For a full list of members please refer to the Tribunal’s most recent Annual Report link on this site.

Top of page

Who is on the Tribunal?

The Tribunal has a pool of members who are rostered to sit at hearings. Three members sit at each hearing

Tribunal members are appointed by the Administrator of the Northern Territory.

What does the Tribunal do?

The main functions of the Tribunal are

How to contact the Tribunal

All inquiries, lodgement of forms and correspondence in relation to review and appeal hearings are made to the Registrar located at
The Met Building
CASCOM Building 5, Casuarina Village
Level 1, 13-17 Scaturchio Street
Casuarina NT 0811

Postal Address:
PO Box 41860, Casuarina NT 0810

Phone: 89995001
Fax: 89995005

Top of page